EN FR
Presidents Cup 2024
EN | FR

Célébrons plus que
150 ans de golf

L’Histoire

Les origines du Royal Montréal remontent à 1873, lorsque huit hommes qui frappaient des balles de gutta-percha à Fletcher’s Field au centre-ville de Montréal décident de fonder un club de golf indépendant. Le trophée qui récompense aujourd’hui le champion masculin du Club porte le nom de l’Écossais Alexander Dennistoun, premier capitaine du club. La première femme à devenir membre d’un club de golf en Amérique du Nord, madame William Wallace Watson (née Florence Stancliffe), était admise en 1891. Depuis sa fondation, le Club a changé de site à deux reprises : d’abord à Dixie, dans la paroisse de Dorval en 1896, puis à son emplacement actuel à L’Île-Bizard, en 1959.

Le préfixe royal

En 1884, le Club de golf de Montréal ajoutait le mot « Royal » à son titre, un honneur décerné par la reine Victoria. Aujourd’hui, 66 véritables clubs « royal » à travers le monde partagent cette distinction, dont le Royal County Down en Irlande, le Royal Dornoch en Écosse, le Royal St. George’s et le Royal Lytham & St. Annes au Royaume-Uni.

Le saviez-vous?

En 1896, le Royal Montréal déménageait au Dixie, à Dorval, où il est demeuré jusqu’à ce que la forte croissance urbaine le contraigne à déménager. Le Clubhouse de Dixie devint alors l’académie Queen of Angels pour filles, puis le Collège Sainte-Anne d’aujourd’hui.

Chronologie

Un survol de l’histoire du Royal Montréal représente un exercice passionnant qui témoigne de l’expansion du golf de ce côté-ci de l’Atlantique :

member login

Celebrating
150 years in 2023

History

Royal Montreal owes its origins to a decision by eight men, then striking gutta-percha balls on Fletcher’s Field in downtown Montreal, to form an independent golf club in 1873. Scottish born Alexander Dennistoun, the Club’s first Captain, would lend his name to the trophy that currently recognizes the men’s club champion. The first female member to join any golf club in North America, Mrs. William Wallace Watson (née Florence Stancliffe) was admitted in 1891. The Club’s location has changed twice since its initial formation, first to Dixie, in the parish of Dorval, in 1896, and then to its current location in Île-Bizard in 1959.

The Royal Connection

In 1884, the Montreal Golf Club added “Royal” to its title, an honorific awarded by Queen Victoria. In the modern day, 66 true “Royal” clubs across the world share this distinction, among them Royal County Down in Ireland, Royal Dornoch in Scotland, and Royal St. George’s and Royal Lytham & St. Annes in England.

Did you know?

In 1896, Royal Montreal moved to the Dixie location, in the parish of Dorval, where it remained until the pressures of urban growth again dictated a decision to move. The clubhouse at Dixie became Queen of Angels Academy for Girls and is now Académie Sainte-Anne. 

Timeline

A walk through Royal Montreal’s history is a fascinating exercise in witnessing the development of the game on this side of Atlantic: